Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
23 user(s) are online (9 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 23

more...
Top Posters

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Raytrace - what are the best techniques for speedy tracing?
Just can't stay away
From Oz
Group:
Registered Users
Hi Guys
Firstly, just a bit of background...
I've been an Imagine user since the Amiga days, and IFD user since mid-90's.

I'm just an amateur 3d enthusiast with a passion for space exploration and similar subject matter. My usual focus is animation, rather than single-image compositions. I like to "visualise" space-craft designs and concepts via animation.

Most of my anims are around 1000-2000 frames, so high-quality traced videos can take weeks to render on my dual core Intel!

I've used a lot of "tricks" and workarounds in the past to try and get trace render times down to a reasonable level (eg. tweeking the Resolve Depth in the Render requester, using negative-light-sources for fake shadows in scanline mode, rendering the background imagery in scanline and the primary objects in trace mode, then combining the two via Global Actor Background Image parameters, reducing scene complexity, etc, etc)

I did a search in these forums on TRACE and RAYTRACE to see what others are doing in this regard - did not get any useful results

What parameters or stage considerations do I need to heed in order to ensure the fastest trace times for a reasonable quality? I'd love to hear some suggestions - bear in mind my output is always for animations.

Thanks for taking the time to read my long post - I know there are some very advanced users here and if you could take the time to point me in the right direction, I would be absolutely stoked!

Posted on: 2009/9/14 23:42
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Raytrace - what are the best techniques for speedy tracing?
Webmaster
From Stockholm, Sweden.
Group:
Webmasters