Login
Username:

Password:

Remember me

Lost Password?

Register now!
Main Menu
Who's Online
19 user(s) are online (7 user(s) are browsing Forum)

Members: 0
Guests: 19

more...
Top Posters

Browsing this Thread:   1 Anonymous Users

Boolean operation (splitting primitive with another)
Just popping in
Group:
Registered Users
Hello, I am new to Imagine for Windows and have used Imagine for DOS and Amiga in the last century. Recently I tried to figure out the proper way to split object with another object but couldn't quite get the results I was hoping for.

I have an old book 3D Modeling Lab for DOS version of Imagine that instructs to use "multi-mode" for picking objects for splitting. However, this multi-mode concept may be slightly different for Imagine for Windows. Should both interlapping objects become dotted or just the other?

Is there a tutorial or manual that shows how to properly split or slice object with another object?

I believe I can perhaps get up to speed with Imagine for Windows fairly quickly with some advise.

Posted on: 1/5 12:00
Transfer the post to other applications Transfer

Re: Boolean operation (splitting primitive with another)
Just popping in
Group:
Registered Users
I made some learning and am getting desired shapes in objects using a primitive to cut another with Object > Slice command.

Here are three new objects that were made from over-lapping Plane and Tube primitives:

https://postimg.org/image/e9980fm3v/

I ungrouped the three objects with States > Ungroup command and proceeded with the disk made of plane. Using an over-lapping tube I pierced a hole and got four new objects.

The cut-in-half tube objects were not needed and were deleted leaving two desired objects:

https://postimg.org/image/vntg8coa3/